19 Comments
Jun 8, 2023Liked by Michelle Martin

I remember reading Wild Game by Adrienne Brodeur while on vacation in VT during July, 2020. We managed to get away from home for a week, but once at the beautiful hotel (The Woodstock Inn), we stayed in our room quite a bit. So I read a lot and I specifically remember Wild Game from those days in VT. I’m looking forward to making new reading memories during all of my upcoming summer travel!

Expand full comment
author

Oh, that's such a good one! And what a unique memory of it; definitely something that will stay with you.

Expand full comment

Every time I think of summer, I think of my favorite book series of all time from back in middle school. It was the Warrior book series by Erin Hunter. It's about 4 clans of cats that live wild in the forest by a suburn area. The first set of the series follows a cat named Rusty, later called Firepelt, that decides to leave his owners and comfortable life behind and join one of the clans of cats. I loved reading it over the summer because I got to feel like I was part of the book and exploring that world of the beautiful, wild forest.

Expand full comment
author

Wow! I love the sound of this and I know my middle school self would have been obsessed with this series. I love when books feel nostalgic in that way. It's so special!

Expand full comment

My most memorable summer reading experience was camping in Moab, Utah with a library copy of The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary, and reading the entire thing inside the tent because a sudden rainstorm came out of nowhere. It's such a great backlist book and one that still sticks with me after that excursion!

Expand full comment
author

Oh my gosh, I love this story! That's certainly a memorable story and what a cozy book to be curled up in a tent with ◡̈

Expand full comment

I loved reading Pillars of the Earth two summers ago. It's a big engrossing historical fiction in medieval England.

Expand full comment
author

That sounds like a wonderful read to sink into for the summer!

Expand full comment
Jun 8, 2023Liked by Michelle Martin

Great Circle is by far my favorite summer read. (Really anything by Maggie Shipstead is perfect for summer.) I also enjoyed Mermaids in Paradise by Lydia Millet as a beachside read.

Expand full comment
author

I completely agree with you on Maggie Shipstead being perfect for summer! I've only read A Children's Bible by Lydia Millet, I'm going to have to check out Mermaids in Paradise (even the title sounds summery!)

Expand full comment

Two summers ago I read Middlemarch by George Eliot--which may seem like a strange beach read, but it was so perfect. I was totally consumed, and it just kept going!!

Expand full comment
author

Yes, sometimes deep and engrossing reads make for the best ones because they just completely suck you in!

Expand full comment
Jun 8, 2023Liked by Michelle Martin

Mine is The Anomaly by Hervé Le Tellier. I read a rave review of it and brought it to Austin last year for SXSW and ending up hanging out by the pool all day and tearing through it. I want more reading experiences like that!

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2023Liked by Michelle Martin

LOVE this book for summer reading!!

Expand full comment
author

Aren't those the best kinds of reading experiences?! I'm also seeking those out. And now I'm off to look up that book...

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2023Liked by Michelle Martin

Our Wives Under the Sea by Julia Armfield not only sounds summery but completely consumed me on the beach last August!

Expand full comment
author

Same! It was actually kind of funny to read it while at the beach because it gave me a new perspective on the ocean 😂

Expand full comment

This feels a bit lame because they're such popular books but a few years back I read Beach Read, Where the Crawdads Sing, and The House in the Cerulean Sea on the beach. Those will forever be the perfect summer books in my mind.

Expand full comment
author

They're such good ones, though! Perfect summer reading.

Expand full comment