81 Comments
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

Penance by Eliza Clark, and Sirens & Muses by Antonia Angress!

Expand full comment
author

Okay, I loved Sirens & Muses so now I'm going to have to give Penance a second look!

Expand full comment

Hear me out šŸ˜‚ Iā€™m not a total true crime gal but I LOVED the exploration of our general fascination as a society with true crime as a ā€œgenreā€ outside of the fact that these crimes actually happen to real people. It was really refreshing and not voyeuristic to meā€”very in line with I Have Some Questions For You but quieter and more literary.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

I actually just read The Marriage Portrait by Maggie Oā€™Farrell & loved it!

Expand full comment
author

Ohhhh, so good, right?

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

The women by Kristin Hannah. Itā€™s about the women who were involved in the Vietnam war. A part of our history that I didnā€™t know much about. I learnt so much, I canā€™t stop thinking about it and absolutely loved the writing style.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, I love when a book does that! We're thinking about reading it for my local book club. Do you think it would be a good one for discussion?

Expand full comment

Yes it will be a great book club pick especially if your book club members are all women but also maybe if theyā€™re not. Itā€™s sad how many of womenā€™s accomplishments and experiences have been left out of history books in general.

Expand full comment

Itā€™s been a couple of months now, but I was utterly captivated by All the Sinners Bleed by S.A. Cosby!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

also loved this one!

Expand full comment
author

I hear nothing but praise for S.A. Cosby's work, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this one so much!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

I loved Hello Beautiful by Ann Napolitano and Leaving Atlanta by Tayari Jones :)

Expand full comment
author

I just finished Hello Beautiful over the weekend and I also loved it! It's what prompted me to ask folks this question ā—”Ģˆ I'm glad you loved it too!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

1000 Words by Jami Attenberg. If you're looking for inspiration with your writing, I highly recommend.

Expand full comment
author

I'm excited for this one, I've got a copy sitting on my shelf and everyone I've seen that read it had similar praise!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

Iā€™m still thinking about Orbital by Samantha Harvey and finally read Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi - both excellent.

Expand full comment

Oooh! I have Orbital checked out from the library right now! I'd seen it on the new books shelf and then heard an episode of NPR Book of the Day about it!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

Love when that happens! Such a meaningful read. I love space so was set-up to be a big fan! Style and themes reminded me of Our Wives Under the Sea!

Expand full comment
author

This is selling me even more!

Expand full comment
author

I've never heard of Orbital, I'm going to look it up! Homegoing is so good, definitely one of my all time favorite reads.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

The Color Purple by Alice Walker- a classic for a reason, and The Future by Naomi Alderman- a not so dystopian view of when wealth corrupts

Expand full comment
author

I feel like those are two classics! I'm so glad you enjoyed them.

Expand full comment

Just finished the masterpiece Piranesi - it sticks with you like a balm in this harsh world. Also just started The Ferryman by Justin Cronin and its so good already I almost got up at 6 am just to read before work (almost).

Expand full comment
author

Hahaha, almost. I haven't heard of that one, so I'll have to look it up. Piranesi is def a masterpiece, I couldn't stop thinking about it either!

Expand full comment

The Frozen River

The Vulnerables

How to Say Babylon

The Kamogawa Food Detectives

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

I also loved the frozen river!!

Expand full comment

I would love to see a screen adaptation of the book in the future!

Expand full comment
author

I've been hearing lots of good things about The Frozen River!

Expand full comment

Itā€™s beyond amazing!!! And it takes place in Maine, before it was a state.

Expand full comment

I also loved the Frozen River. And read Lady Tans circle of women back to back which has a similar theme. I highly recommend both those books together both true stories , one about a midwife set in Maine, US and the other a doctor set in China.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

Weyward by Emilia Hart

Expand full comment
author

I hear good things about this one, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it!

Expand full comment

They're Going to Love You by Meg Howrey!

Expand full comment
author

So many of my reader friends whose taste I align with have loved this, I really should get a copy! I'm glad you mentioned it!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

In Memoriam and The Covenant of Water. I had put COW down after 40 pages or so. When I picked it up this weekend I read 200 pages in one sitting and finished the next day. The craft of that book is unreal, and it's so moving. Can't imagine I'll read a better book this year. In Memoriam is definitely top 5 of the year too.

Expand full comment
author

That sounds like a delightful reading experience ā—”Ģˆ I have In Memoriam on my shelf and am quite excited for it, I'm glad to hear you loved it.

Expand full comment

It's phenomenal! I feel I've read so many WWII novels and far fewer WWI (Maisie Dobbs is one of a few that come to mind) and this is such a good window into the time and the mentality of these young British men and what honor meant to them. It's so much more than that too. I had to keep reminding myself--they're only teenagers!

Expand full comment

I loved In Memoriam ā€” and am not typically into war books! So beautifully written.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

The Book of Doors is my favorite book in a loooooooooong time

Expand full comment
author

I keep seeing this one around but don't know much about it! I'll have to check it out more closely.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

Darling by India Knight. Itā€™s a modern retelling of The Pursuit of Love and itā€™s a banger, cannot recommend enough

Expand full comment
author

I loved The Pursuit of Love adaptation that came out on Amazon a few years ago, have you watched it? Highly recommend! And now I'm off to look up this retelling, thanks for sharing!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

Absolution, The Book of Goose (!!!!)

Expand full comment
author

You're inspiring me to give these both a go!

Expand full comment

Donā€™t look up what the Book of Goose is about - I was very surprised by the novel!

Expand full comment

Loved Book of Goose! Have you read My Brilliant Friend by Ferrante or The Forbidden Notebook by Alba? They both have a similar vibe IMO.

Expand full comment

My Brilliant Friend has been on my list forever - your comparison just moved it up!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

The Yield, by Tara June Winch. And I'm going to second In Memorium. So good!

Expand full comment
author

Everyone who reads In Memoriam sings it's praises, I'm glad you do too!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

Expand full comment
author

Nice, what a classic!

Expand full comment

One of my all time favs! I reread it every few years and it just never gets old.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

I just finished The Most Fun We Ever Had and absolutely loved it. My other favourite this year so far is The Great Believers

Expand full comment
author

Two great ones!

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Michelle Martin

My Murder by Katie Williams was quite good: suspenseful, thought-provoking, and (one of my highest compliments) consistently unexpected!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

I really enjoyed My Murder too!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Ahhh My Murder!! One of my favorites from last year - totally agree. It was great on audio too!

Expand full comment
author

Youā€™re selling me on it!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Well, it's a silly little book, and it's meant to be, but it's called "Bloodlust & Bonnets," and it's this fun little Victorian farce about vampires and adventures and falling in love and more adventures. Fast read, whimsical art, and vampires and adventures.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5787887391

Expand full comment
author

So fun!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

I guess Iā€™m in my Ali Hazelwood era because I LOVED Check & Mate and Bride this month.

Expand full comment
author

I love how much youā€™ve been loving Ali Hazelwood!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Ā·edited Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

The Other Valley by Scott Alexander Howard (came out in the US today) - it's speculative fiction meets literary fiction and one of the best time travel plots I've read!

Expand full comment
author

Intriguing!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Iā€™m loving The Bloomsbury Girls (and the Jane Austin Society which preceded it, but this one even more).

A great cast of characters and intertwining stories in post WW2 England, fabulous strong women.

Expand full comment
author

Iā€™ve heard lovely things about that one!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

I was skeptical of the hype about Tom Lake ā€” the premise and the cover didnā€™t really grab me ā€” but I gave it a try and by the first 30 pages Ann Patchett had me totally drawn in. I love her writing and sheā€™s a new auto-buy author for me.

Expand full comment
author

Isnā€™t she the best?? I just love all her books Iā€™ve read.

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Love, Me by debut author Jessica Saunders. Everyone knows a Dan in their life and it's a light read that's thought provoking!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Maps of Our Spectacular Bodies is one I will never stop recommending.

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Just finished Looking for Jane, and wow it was powerful! Almost feels like our responsibility as women to talk about these topics and fight for our rights

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Piglet by Lottie Hazell and Green Dot by Madeleine Gray! Both out now. And Long Island by Colm Toibin (out in May)

Expand full comment
author

I am so excited for Long Island Compromise!

Expand full comment

So actually Long Island is separate to Long Island Compromise but confusingly they're both out at the same sort of time! I haven't actually read Fleishman yet so I don't know whether to start with that before I read her new one!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

Things Don't Break On Their Own by Sarah Easter Collins

Hagstone by Sinead Gleeson

Meet Me At The Surface by Jodie Matthews

Blue Sisters by Coco Mellors

Cantoras by Carolina De Robertis

Expand full comment
author

Off to look all these up because I love your recs šŸ‘€ Iā€™m so excited for the new Coco Mellors!

Expand full comment

DEF Black Cake by Charlene Wilkerson. I loved The Bee Sting, too! but Black Cake is one of my new favorites!

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

The Frozen River! I know itā€™s early to make the call, but it really might be my favorite book of 2024 šŸ˜®ā€šŸ’ØšŸ‘šŸ¼

Expand full comment
Feb 28Liked by Michelle Martin

The Pursuit of love by Nancy Mitford! Sparkling bubbles of champagne, love, British aristocrats, and between-two-world-wars nothing-really-matters attitude of the main character is what the doctor ordered for the spring that will come one day (at last. I hope).

Expand full comment
author

Have you watched the Amazon adaptation yet!? It came out in 2021 or 2022 and it is so delightful šŸ˜

Expand full comment

I just finished the long form, which I really enjoyed. The structure is so unique. I also read biography of X in Januaryā€¦ was unsure how I felt about it, but it keeps resurfacing in my mind; which I usually consider a positiveā€¦

Expand full comment